Thank You Letter to the Ladies Who Made/Brought Food to A Funeral

My responsibility at my church allows me the occasional opportunity to serve families during funerals. I am happy to put the food out, keep refilling chip bowls and water pitchers, and make sure there are plenty of napkins and cups and so on. I spend a few hours on my feet, but it’s no great sacrifice. This is the letter I sent to the ladies who prepared food for this occasion.

Dearest Ladies, I know I don’t usually write to you this often, but I couldn’t go without saying thank you to all of you who brought or made food, brought ice or eating ware, or donated time to help for Brother H’s funeral.

There was plenty of food, and the family truly appreciated it. They were made very comfortable and ate their fill.  Mr. Darcy (from Pride and Prejudice) once said that “Poetry is the food of love.” I like to think that the Love of Food is Poetry. At any rate, if bringing food is a symbol of love, then you all love the H family to overflowing.

Thank you so much from all my heart.

Love,
Pres. Vicky

One thought on “Thank You Letter to the Ladies Who Made/Brought Food to A Funeral

Leave a Reply

