The International Language of Chocolate

Alice came back this week. It’s a long story, but I’ll give you the version of pertinent parts. Parts that pertain to food.

Last week, Alice wouldn’t eat any of our food. Since she has only been in the States for a couple months, I can’t really blame her. I was scarfing down my homemade Five-Way Chili, an internet knock-off of Steak N Shake’s chili, mmm good. She politely sipped water. So when I knew she was coming back this week, I wanted to feed her. It was going to be supper time; I knew she would be on the bus for a few hours, and what do you do when you want someone to feel comfortable in your home? You feed them. So I went online and actually found a recipe for the Huushuur. I made it, and ‘Alice’ was so delighted, that she called the interpreter just to tell him that I made it.

Also, when I got her at the bus station, she gave me a package full of Mongolian chocolate. I had no idea. I’m so naive. I thought South Americans invented chocolate and only shipped it to North America. Oh wait, I have also heard of Swiss chocolate, and Belgian chocolate and German chocolate…I just had no idea that Mongolians might also enjoy that heavenly dark brown bliss. DH had a good description for it. He called it ‘earthy’. I agreed with the assessment. It was kind of chocolate covered brittle, with just a hint of melamine. Okay, that was probably unkind. I mean, I’m still eating the entire bag, so it can’t be that bad, right? Or is it the fact that I haven’t had a decent candy bar in like, three weeks. But while Alice doesn’t speak a lot of English, and I don’t speak a lot of Mongolian (Huushuur, Buuz, Benno Benno), we both love our chocolate, and our meat pies.

I was exceedingly happy and gratified when she asked for four more Huushuur to eat after she tasted the first one. Here it is:

2 1/4 cups regular flour

half teaspoon salt

3/4 cup water

Mix that up into a dough, roll into sixteen small balls and let rest for two hours.

Mince garlic and onion (I used my MINI-CHOPPER!) Mix in with your ground beef. When your dough is done sitting, you roll the balls out into cute little pancakes. You put a couple tablespoons of your meat mixture on half, fold over into half-moon shape, crimp edges, and deep fry. They were pretty easy, and pretty tasty. It suggested serving with soy sauce, but we just ate them plain.

Leave a Reply

