Almond Coated Tilapia

Heaven help me,  it was the best fish I’ve ever made in my life,  and I am trying very hard not to go eat the rest of it. See, dinner got started late because of a certain incident involving “Tori” and her soiled diaper, but I digress. So DH and the boys had to leave before dinner was ready.

I signed up for eMealz. It is very fun to have a shopping list made up for you, and a menu, and the recipes. It’s totally worth the five dollars a month. Anyway, tonight’s recipe was Parmesan Tilapia with Almonds. I was in a hurry, because I was trying to get it done in time for everyone to eat. So I skipped a step, (Thawing the Tilapia filets), which kind of messed it up. In a perfect world, the filets would have been thawed out, then I could have properly done the egg/milk wash and then the dredged in flour/parmesan/spices mixture. As it was, I dumped every thing in one bag, shook it up, and poured it out into the casserole dish. So it took longer to bake, since it was frozen. So skipping the step didn’t save me time at all. But the beautiful thing is, even though the fish wasn’t evenly coated with the toppings, WOW. Flavorful, moist, buttery, crunchy…Outstanding.

So you put the fish in the casserole dish, then pour a bunch of melted margarine and almost the whole six ounces of slivered almonds all over the top. Baked it for forty minutes or so. I was making involuntary obscene vocalizations while eating it. I can hardly wait for DH to come home and eat it. I think he will love it too. You should check out eMealz. It’s cool. The thing that sold me on it, was that they have menus for ALDI. Awesome!

One thought on “Almond Coated Tilapia

Leave a Reply

