Gifts of Food

Open mouth, insert food.

So anyway, remember how I spent that evening chatting it up with some mature women? I happened to mention to them that I adored Pepperidge Farms Coconut Cream Frozen cakes. It was part of an anecdote involving birthday cakes and so on. I forgot all about it.

On Sunday, one of these esteemed women pulled me aside and said, “I’ve got something for you.” I said, “Oh…” and then kind of forgot about it because I was trying to keep track of certain little people.

I walked into the Relief Society room, and out of the corner of my eye saw two beautifully frosted cupcakes. Somebody’s a lucky stiff, I thought to myself. Not two minutes later this lady brought me the cupcakes. I thanked her in confusion. Ask and ye shall receive? Cool.

Brought them home after church. Hid them in my room. (Have I done a post on hoarding food yet?) Got out my pretty stationery set and wrote a thank you note to this lady. How did she know I had a weakness for cupcakes?  Waited until I couldn’t stand it anymore, and then inhaled one. COCONUT! Then it all snapped into place. The conversation, the coconut cream cake, cupcakes with coconut…well, I was feeling very blessed. What a sweet gesture from a sweet lady.

Leave a Reply

