Ode to Sour Cream Potatoes

Also known as Funeral Potatoes, these are DH’s other love. Tonight, I made a casserole dish full of them and they are baking in the oven. This was truly a labor of love, because when I turned around after shredding potatoes in the mini-chopper, Farley was covered head to toe in yogurt. Funny thing is, I had been checking on him regularly. Every time I looked he was spooning the yogurt into his mouth like a good little boy.

So, I had to stop mid-prep to put Farley in the bath. He actually hates baths. He’s all boy. But Tori loves the bath, so as soon as she heard the water running, she started undressing. Farley refused to sit in the tub, and Tori was trying to push me out of the way so she could get in. I had to use shampoo to get the raspberry yogurt out, but I opted out of the conditioner. Yogurt is probably good for your hair, I don’t know. So I now have two kids in the tub, one screaming to get out, and the other one screaming because the first one is screaming. She started attempting to hit or squeeze him to make him stop. That only made him scream more. I finally got the yogurt out, and Bob, bless him, came upstairs and asked if I needed any help. So of course I’m going to say yes when he asks to skip Scouts and go to the park with friends. Anyway, he takes naked Farley downstairs. I hear the friends yelping in embarrassment. As if they’ve never seen a naked boy. Duh.

Now I’ve got to shampoo and condition Tori’s hair, because I just have to. It gets really tangled. I’m shampooing her hair, and listening to the ruckus downstairs. I hear laughing and squealing and random phrases like, “…needs a diaper!” “where are the diapers?”. So I leave Tori, go downstairs and find a naked Farley terrorizing the 12 year olds. I recruit Dale to stir the Cream of Chicken soup into the potatoes/cheese/sour cream mixture, change Farley who was accidentally put in a pull-up. Go back upstairs, finish taking care of Tori’s hair, and come back downstairs to put the potatoes in the oven.

Whew. I couldn’t have done it without my oldest boys’ help. Then E came home and I asked her to go check on sis in the tub. I hear, “Oh No! Don’t poop in the bath!” Aren’t you glad I already had my hands in the food?

One thought on “Ode to Sour Cream Potatoes

Leave a Reply

