Sweet Potato Hash

My SIL sent a family email with a recipe attached. Bonus!

So I made a special grocery trip, just so I could get the ingredients for this recipe. I bought sweet potatoes, not the canned kind. I am somewhat ashamed to admit that I’ve never actually purchased sweet potatoes in the raw before. When I was peeling them, I discovered their texture to be reminiscent of eggplant. Kind of corky. They cooked up great in the microwave. To the softened sweet potatoes I added SIL’s ingredients: onions, zucchini, summer squash, jalapeño, pepper (recipe called for green and red, but I compromised with an orange one. I know…the sweet potato was orange…to0 much orange…whatever.) fresh cilantro and Italian parsley and spices…chili powder, garlic, cumin, salt and pepper. Very easy to make, just a lot of vegetable chopping. I used Rachel Ray’s “trash bowl” concept for easy clean-up.

Verdict: It was very tasty. However, DH and I are pretty carb and meat addicted, so even after like, four helpings, I still felt hungry. I needed some steak or some melted cheese or something, and salty chips. But I felt really healthy eating it, other than the four servings part.

Tonight I will be soaking lentils for a Curried Lentils recipe that I want to try making myself. I ate it last week; a lady at church made it and it was HEAVENLY. She sprouted the lentils though, which I have never done. So the sprouting will be tomorrow night. Tomorrow night’s supper is a recipe from another SIL. (I have seven SILs). Mexican Salad. I’m psyched about it, because it uses lime juice and black beans, among other things. YUM.

I’m most excited about the curried lentils, because you make this Garlic Cilantro Ginger sauce to go on it, and that is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. Okay, Tori is pestering me for a bath, so I must go now.

Leave a Reply

