Lean, Mean and Green Cookin’ Machine

I didn’t feel like cooking, and my oldest child, “Dale”, wanted to earn some money. Perfect.

I told him what to put in and I left the room and goofed off downloading free eBooks to my Kindle.

Looks good, doesn’t it? It was great, and I embarrassed myself by eating, ahem, more than two servings. The white dollop is not sour cream, but rather plain yogurt. Yummy and a healthier choice.

1 lb lean ground turkey

2 cans Aldi tomato sauce

1 can Aldi black beans

1 T chili powder

1 T dried minced onion

1 cup water

2 tsp beef bouillon

mystery amount of cinnamon…I don’t know how much he put in

Simmer for an hour. It was GREAT.

Cornbread Casserole

My favorite way to eat cornbread

1 can creamed corn (Aldi of course)

1 box corn bread muffin mix

1 egg

1 oz sour cream

1/4 cup melted margarine

NORMALLY you would add 1 can of kernel corn, but I didn’t have ANY. So, I took a cooking risk, and put about 3/4 cup of frozen green beans in. I really liked it, but it’s not for everyone.

Leave a Reply

