What I’ve Done

Had a great ‘walk’ on the EZ Walker today. Once again, my MP3 was my one and true friend.

Some great tunes for exercising: Steppin’ Out by Joe Jackson, Summertime by Will Smith. Then The Pretender (Foo Fighters) came on, and really revved me up. You should seriously try running to the back beat of  that song. It’s a killer. Then I cooled down with The Show Goes On by Lupe Fiasco. I was running for the kids in the ghetto! (She said cheekily) But the pinnacle of my workout came with Linkin Park’s “What I’ve Done”.

Check out these lyrics and put them to your current nutrition/fitness status:

In this farewell, there’s no blood, there’s no alibi (I’m saying good bye to my fat, not with lipo, and there are no excuses.)

‘Cause I’ve drawn regret from the truth of a thousand lies. (I just realized that every time I opened the pantry or the fridge, I was lying to myself about being hungry)

So let mercy come, and wash away what I’ve done. (I’m forgiving myself for what I’ve done to my body with every twinkie, hoho and bon bon.)

CHORUS

I’ll face myself to cross out what I’ve become (I saw a photo of myself in a swimsuit, and buddy we are not going there)

Erase myself and let go of what I’ve done. (I’m going down at least two dress sizes and letting go of that cellulite)


Put to rest what you thought of me (I’m doing a total body makeover; I’ll be a different person when this is over)

Well, I cleaned this slate with the hands of uncertainty (I don’t actually know what I’m doing, but I’m trying to change)

So let mercy come and wash away what I’ve done (I’m feeling merciful to myself, and washing off the food crumbs)

CHORUS

I’ll face myself to cross out what I’ve become (Every time I look in the mirror, I decide to do better)

Erase myself and let go of what I’ve done. (When I say erase, I mean trim away the extra)

I start again and whatever pain may come (Okay, I screwed up and ate Hershey’s kisses for breakfast. But I’m starting over, and working out this hard hurts)

Today this ends (Today is the day I’m conquering my unhealthy eating habits)

I’m forgiving what I’ve done (It’s true; I’m bigger than I’ve ever been, but I’m forgiving myself and I can do this)

CHORUS

I’ll face myself to cross out what I’ve become ( I’m facing up to my fat and crossing it out)

Erase myself and let go of what I’ve done. (My physical body is getting smaller because I’m letting go of extra calories)

So let mercy come and wash away what I’ve done (I’m going to need a shower after this)

Good luck in all of your endeavors.

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Done

Leave a Reply

