Recognizing Full

What is full? Some diet books will tell you to eat until you’re just a little bit hungry. Ouch. I can’t see myself going there yet. But today, I finished a simple sandwich…turkey breast on wheat with NOTHING (I really wanted Mayo but was too lazy to put mustard on) and half a bag of Jimmy John’s BBQ chips. The landmark thing here is that all of a sudden I felt full, and there was still a lot of chips left. I put them down and quit eating them. This is good. I was talking with my mom the other day and discussing how difficult it is to overcome that compulsion to ‘clean your plate’. Even if you didn’t grow up hearing it, you feel you should finish your restaurant meals because you paid for them. Here’s to leaving a little to be desired on every plate.

One thought on “Recognizing Full

  1. This reminds me of a book I just read. I don’t agree with everything she says, as she equates cheetos with health food (her theory is that everything gets broken down to ATP in the long run anyway). However, her methods of recognizing full, and realizing when you’re hungry for something other than food were pretty good. Here’s the Amazon link (I didn’t see it at SJPL) http://www.amazon.com/Weigh-Down-Diet-Gwen-Shamblin/dp/038549324X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1294953212&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

