Ode to Aldi, the Grocery for Cheap Foodies

I know I’ve mentioned my love affair with Linguine Pescatore. The tomato sauce, the mussels, the juicy tender scallops…you’ll never believe what I found in the freezer section of my local Aldi. It was their “SeaQueen” brand of seafood, a box of mussels in garlic tomato sauce. It was 3.99. Well, it couldn’t possibly taste as good as Papa Vino’s or Carrabba’s, but hey, for four bucks I sure as heck am going to try it. I would have had to buy the scallops separate, but the mussels are my favorite part anyway. It literally took six minutes to prepare; they popped right open in the hot skillet. Gotta have pasta with my mussels, so I made a package of Ramen, ’cause Farley loves his noodles. I gingerly took my first bite: easily as good as Papa Vino’s! I think Carrabba’s puts some hot chili pepper flakes in theirs, and another herb or two. But for a fraction of the cost of eating out, I am completely happy. Oh, and get this. Only 110 calories in one serving. No way. Only 4 grams of fat, and 11 grams of protein. I am moved to write a poem.

Aldi
You give me what I need
You give me what I want
You are affordable
You are various
You surprise me with little gifts of love
Thank you

One thought on “Ode to Aldi, the Grocery for Cheap Foodies

Leave a Reply

