Shin Splints, Discouragement, Bob Greene and Hostess Donettes

That pretty much sums it all up for me. I had started another round of “Total Body Makeover” and ended up getting really sick for a week. It threw me off my schedule. I tried to get back into it, but it got easier and easier to skip a day here and there, and I ended up only walking/running three times a week. It is just not enough, and my eating habits got bad again, and here I am back up to 145. My beautiful guns have lost their definition, and I had, like, five powdered donettes today. Somebody just shoot me already! Okay, so I typed up ANOTHER contract with myself. Signed it. Decided to walk on the treadmill for fifteen minutes. Keep in mind that I have been walking two miles and running two miles about every third day. Could someone please tell me why fifteen minutes on my rinky-dink treadmill had me winded and huffing like the Big Bad Wolf? What gives? The only benefit is that shin splints don’t bother me on the treadmill. I think it has something to do with the incline, which is also probably why I felt so winded…my walking trail is all flat. So here I am again, going to try and try. I don’t know that I have a body weight goal; I just don’t feel good right now, and I was feeling pretty good before. I mean, it would be nice to go down a dress size. That would be really cool. Wish me luck; I’m going to need it. Also thinking about the Sunburst in just a few short weeks. In a perfect world, I would like to finish the 5K in 31 minutes. But that would require some significant healing in my little shin splint problem. So there are my goals…down a dress size and a 31 minute 5K. Before you get all doubtful on me, you must know that I was running seven minute miles before the shin splints.

This is what the treadmill felt like today. Nice.

One thought on “Shin Splints, Discouragement, Bob Greene and Hostess Donettes

  1. Hang in there V1. Your poor shins shouldn’t have such a rough life. May need to give ’em some more time off. The incline probably helps by forcing you to land more flat footed. If you land too far back then your shin muscles have to brake your foot from slapping the ground. That could be putting some extra strain on them.

Leave a Reply

