Letting My Heart Win

I was on the treadmill, jamming of course, and I kept thinking, I should run outside. I kept at it, and when my online stopwatch jingled, I took it outside. I am so glad I did. It was only 7:30am, and a heavy fog cloaked our neighborhood. The cool mist was perfect for someone hoofing it outside, great temperature. Plus, it was lonely out. Christmas lights, yard lights softly glowing in an eerie “Stand By Me” movie kind of way. I was tempted to title this post ‘the call of the wild’ but that is so cliche. Then I thought I would play with it and use ‘call of the mattress’ because, hey, it’s the truth. Then I heard the lyric in Paramore’s “That’s what you get when you let your heart win”, and I realized that was what I did. There were reasons not to run outside, number one being the possibility of shin splints, but I really really felt this pull. Three cheers for running in fog, even if it was only .7 of a mile. Out.

Leave a Reply

