Another Day Off

I have no guilt about not walking/running today. I can barely breathe just doing normal housework; I can’t see getting on the treadmill and making it worse. (Bad cold.) So instead of talking about walking, let’s talk about what’s4dinner.

DH keeps bringing home these great deals on chicken from our fave grocery store, Aldi. Six thigh/leg quarters for under four dollars! I put two thigh/leg quarters in the crock pot with carrots, onions and celery, and lots of salt and pepper. I still have four quarters left which would be really good in enchiladas, but I digress. It’s just a typical crock pot chicken dinner, but I will boil noodles closer to dinner time. Normally I would throw the noodles right in, but I am trying to avoid gluten. I have some fun and tasty rice elbow noodles that I will cook for my own serving of the chicken soup. My house smells so good right now. Wouldn’t it be loverly to add some of my famous white bread rolls to go with it, but alas…I indulged in homemade bread yesterday and pay the price today. So I will be good. The last time I made this chicken dinner, I added a roux and heavy cream to the soup along with brown rice. It was absolutely DIVINE and yet, DH couldn’t bring himself to eat much. He hates rice that much. Poor guy. And here I am needing to eat mostly rice. I love making crock pot meals after I have thoroughly cleaned the kitchen. No mess! And because the kitchen was clean and dinner was made by noon today, I had time to make a big batch of peanut butter play dough and also a cheesecake for the Family Home Evening treat. Why all of this kitchen fooferah? I was listening to talk radio, of course. I also got all the laundry folded and put away and the school work doled out to “Etherealanna”. What will I do with myself tomorrow? I’m throwing you a bone since I frequently neglect to show photos of dinner. Here are “Tori” and “Farley” riding the bus to school for fun.

Image

One thought on “Another Day Off

Leave a Reply

