40 Pounds in 8 Months

I’ve decided I’m going to lose 40 pounds in 8 months. I know I can do it.

Let’s talk about more dried beans. I soaked a cup and a half of dried pinto beans for 24 hours, then cooked them in my pressure cooker for 25 minutes. Oh. Em. Gee. I can’t believe how yummy these beans are. I salted them liberally with sea salt AFTER they were done. (You can’t salt them before they cook, because the salt molecules will block the water-permeable surface of the beans, preventing them from absorbing water while they cook. Thanks internet!) Plus, who knew the smell of cooking pintos would be so good? My problem is I don’t know what to do with my beans. Yes, I could make chili, but come on, there has to be more out there? I guess you have your standard ‘pork n beans’, ham and beans, chili with beans and refried beans. I guess that is where I could start. Come to think of it…I have a bunch of corn tortillas in my fridge (did you know they store for months and months without going bad?) (Not that i have them around for months and months, because I adore corn tortillas, but anyway) and shredded chedder cheese and limes. Sounds like the making of some yummy refried beans and cheese tortillas with lime juice. When’s lunch?

Leave a Reply

