Existential Exercising

It happened again. I was exercising and got all emotional and thoughtful and thinking about things. I feel like an awakening is happening inside me…a realization of my mortality, but also a feeling that my spirit is becoming even more entrenched in my body. Excuse me bringing up religious doctrine, but a scripture comes to mind that says the spirits of those who have died see their separation from their physical bodies as a prison. I think I get that. I think babies and children start out feeling that strong connection of spirit and body, and that is why kids are generally so joyful and mischievous. They love smearing things with their hands, and tasting everything, even dirt, and are curious and make loud noises…they are truly LIVING in their bodies. Then as the teenage years come around, that shifts a little. I think teens feel less of a connection with their bodies…thus the fearless sense of immortality they experience and exploit by doing dangerous things. Then we grow up, and we feel more grounded in our bodies, and vulnerable, and start making choices that protect and preserve our bodies. We cherish them more. The awakening that I’m having feels like returning to childhood. I feel like my spirit is thriving inside my body, and I’m trying to blend the concern I feel for my mortality with the joy and potential that my spirit feels…regardless of whether it’s attached to my body or not. So there is my little spiritual and physical awakening experience I had while I walked and ran on the treadmill this morning. By the way, I did it! I got on every day this week and totally bought myself a song. But I’m not telling you which one, because I’m embarrassed. Maybe I’ll tell you next week, or if you ask politely.

Leave a Reply

