Voltage Running Through Her Skin

Yes, I use lines from songs as blog titles; sue me. (Actually, please don’t sue me. I can’t afford it.)

So, this is what I was going to write the other day. A letter to myself regarding my morning walk/runs:

Dear Girl with Numbers in Your Name (You’re not fooling anyone, BTW)

I just wanted to remind you of a few things. I wanted to remind you of the flood of endorphins that rush through your system about halfway through your morning walk. I wanted to remind you of the sense of accomplishment you feel when that timer goes off and you did it, and you worked hard, and you made yourself go faster than you wanted to. I wanted to remind you of the glorious feeling of sweaty stinkiness-proof that you exerted yourself and did a favor for your heart. I wanted to remind you of your awesome blood pressure and resting heart rate. I wanted to remind you of the obstacles that you are overcoming every time you get up on that treadmill and make it happen. One last thing, try to remember how you feel when your favorite upbeat songs are pounding in your ears and you are excited to be moving and be alive. Keep up the good work and shake off your mistakes. And don’t be embarrassed to be all charged by that Katy Perry song, you know, that Firework song. It’s cool to move.

Sincerely,

Herself

Leave a Reply

